Book collection design

Lost pieces

‘Lost pieces’ is a book collection consists of the three books ‘Veronika decides to die’, ‘The Devil and Miss Prym’ and ‘Eleven minutes’ by Paulo Coelho.

Paulo Coelho books want to explore the philosophy of life. The ‘lost pieces’ book collection emphasize (the idea of) ethics, challenge, growth, hope, and love. ‘Veronika Decides to Die’ documents the mental instability of youth, ‘The Devil and Miss Prym’ examines the essential nature of mankind and ‘Eleven Minutes’ reflects the boundaries between pleasure, love, and (free) expression.

Pieces from the stories were illustrated and found the 3 book covers and bookmarks.

Veronika decides to die

Veronika Decides to Die (Portuguese: Veronika Decide Morrer) is a novel by Paulo Coelho. It tells the story of 24-year-old Slovenian Veronika, who appears to have everything in life going for her, but who decides to kill herself. This book is partly based on Coelho’s experience in various mental institutions (see the biography Confessions of a Pilgrim by Juan Arias), and deals with the subject of madness. The gist of the message is that “collective madness is called sanity”.

The Devil and Miss Prym

A stranger arrives at the remote village of Viscos, carrying with him a backpack containing a notebook and eleven gold bars. He comes searching for the answer to a question that torments him: Are human beings, in essence, good or evil? In welcoming the mysterious foreigner, the whole village becomes an accomplice to his sophisticated plot, which will forever mark their lives. A novel of temptation by the internationally bestselling author Paulo Coelho, The Devil and Miss Prym is a thought-provoking parable of a community devoured by greed, cowardice, and fear—as it struggles with the choice between good and evil.

Eleven minutes

Eleven Minutes is the story of Maria, a young girl from a Brazilian village, whose first innocent brushes with love leave her heartbroken. At a tender age, she becomes convinced that she will never find true love, instead believing that “love is a terrible thing that will make you suffer. . . .” A chance meeting in Rio takes her to Geneva, where she dreams of finding fame and fortune. Maria’s despairing view of love is put to the test when she meets a handsome young painter. In this odyssey of self-discovery, Maria has to choose between pursuing a path of darkness—sexual pleasure for its own sake—or risking everything to find her own “inner light” and the possibility of sacred sex, sex in the context of love.


visual artist

2024 © Copyright IroKay. All rights reserved